12° Trofeo Giacomo Besani alla memoria e 6° Trofeo mamma Guerrina alla memoria

9.00 am Meeting point: Circolo di Villadosia – Casale Litta

11.00 am – 12.15 am  Check licenses

12.30 am DS meeting

2.00 pm Departure


Official brochure (pdf)

Piccola Tre Valli Varesine

The year was 1967, when the directors of Società Ciclistica Alfredo Binda decided to organize, besides the traditional Tre Valli Varesine, a race entirely dedicated to young athletes: Piccola Tre Valli Varesine.

The aim was to propose a race that could show young talents able to compete side to side with professional cyclists. In a very first moment the organizers wanted to place the event the day right before professional Tre Valli Varesine race, so that sport directors were able to spot young talented cyclists. Even though rules didn’t permit this possibility, the race didn’t stop. On 30th July 1967 took place the first Piccola Tre Valli Varesine won by Roberto Sorilini, of “Velo Club Varese Luigi Ganna” team. The second place went to Arnaldo Caverzasi of “Società Ciclistica Alfredo Binda” and to complete the podium in third position arrived Vincenzo Tessari of “Salus Seregno”. In that period the white-red cycling club was run by president Carlo Curti, treasurer Luigi Costantini and vice presidents Beati, Redalli and Valli.

Throughout the years the race started to gain national importance and even after some years of stops, it was newly reintroduced in the national race calendar. Piccola Tre Valli dedicated to category Dilettanti,dropped back down a division, restarted with Juniores and Allievi categories.

In the roll of honor of Varese chart appear the names of Ottavio Crepaldi, Tommaso Giroli, Giuliano Fontana, Valerio Lualdi, Giuseppe Bonalanza, Fausto Stiz and Paolo Rosola, all of them during the edition of 1976.On the same edition, 5th place was gained by the actual white-red club’s president Renzo Oldani. Other relevant names among the winners are Guido Bontempi, Claudio Chiappucci, Giuseppe Calcaterra, Gianni Faresin and Roberto Pelliconi. In 2007 arrived the success of Luca Zanini, venetian cyclist, who arrived all alone at the finish line in Via Sacco under the eyes of many spectators.

On 2008 the UCI-International Cycling Union promoted Piccola Tre Valli Varesine as international race for Juniores category. After the important award as a first level race, the win of slovenian cyclist Nesc Kosir sealed the internationality of the race.

Giuseppe Fonzi won the 2009 edition and on the following year Nicola Toffali conquered the first place, after a transitional 2011 year the race returned in Valceresio to applaud a new winner: Federico Zurlo. The edition of 2014, unique race of Regional Lombardy Championship for Juniores category, saw the wins of Mattia Viel and Davide Plebani.

From 2016 to 2019 the protagonists were the young cyclists of Allievi category: Samuele Rubino, Andrea Piccolo, Andrea Montoli and Alfio Andrea Bruno.